Fear (period)

some mornings start with fear.  i wake anxious.  heart pounds.  out of breath.  looking around.  did i miss the alarm?  where am i today?  what am i supposed to be doing?  there’s no difficulty in finding fear.  some of our worst decisions are based on it.  the difficulty lies in finding it’s root.  where is it growing from?

i know where mine is planted.  it’s not being late or making mistakes.  it’s my fear of not living.  and no, i do not mean death. i mean taking in every moment.  leaving this place better than i found it.  learning from as many people as i can.  trying to leave a mark.

some mornings there’s a voice.  it’s reminding me of my past.  the mistakes, the bad decisions, the pain.

the pain.

the pain.

for a brief moment i’m petrified.  i have to stop and take a deep breath.  then i grab my shovel and start digging.  pull up these roots.  i dig as deep as i can.  as fast as i can.  i’m not letting these roots drag me down.  i have too many songs in my head.  too many words to be written.  too many hugs i need to give.  too many smiles i need to see.  too many meals i need to eat.  too much love inside of me.

these roots will always grow back, and they will be tougher to pull next time.  but i will not let my life be defined by my fears, rather, define me by how i handle my fears.

reflection in your waking moments should arouse desire.

About adamjodor

I record. I produce. It's analog. I jump through stages with a Thunderbird (sometimes a P-Bass). I like good Thai food. I love Stacey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fear (period)

  1. Cheers to facing the fear and making every breath & sigh count!

  2. Mike Springer says:

    Excellent. Thanks for sharing this. May you live all the days of your life, my friend.

  3. TX_Tomgirl says:

    Oh, this was meant to be read by me. Thank you for reminding me that this daily anxiety is experienced by others and that it can be overcome. With work. Lord, there are days I’m so scared I can’t even move. Much love to you.

  4. Shanada says:

    I love you. That is all! Thank you for the inspiration this morning.

  5. I should read this every single day. Fear and anxiety grip me daily. Thank for reminding me to “pull up the roots”. You make me smile with your kindness.

  6. Amy Crowell says:

    I did this last year. And realized every bad decision I’ve ever made was from a place of fear. No more.

Leave a Reply

