Top of the World

Patty Griffin.  that’s all you really have to say.  in my humblest of opinions, the greatest songwriter alive right now.  if you know her, you know this.  if you don’t, i beg of you to look into her catalog.  see who has covered her.  this is one of those covers.

Dixie Chicks‘ “Home” holds a special place.  it’s one of mine.  i helped it into this world.  and i sat down and just listened as Natalie told me the story.

this song brings me to tears.  i won’t lie.  no ego.  it’s pure and raw emotion.  regret.  REGRET.  every thing i’ve done, every person i’ve wronged, every time i’ve cut, it all comes out.  i’m hurt, angry, revengeful, prideful.  i’m terrible.  and then i EXPLODE.  i scream.  the melody encompasses me.

and then it’s over.

the power of music. get it here.

About adamjodor

I record. I produce. It's analog. I jump through stages with a Thunderbird (sometimes a P-Bass). I like good Thai food. I love Stacey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

